D.I.Y. home design

It was finally here ….CHRISTMAS!! I was on my  own for the first time ever ever ever! So, in turn it must be great! My dear kids will be there, my Mother and Stepfather, and bff Jeff.

It hit me I can decorate my little apartment -(sure my roommate who will remain nameless was not celebrating the Holiday – wierd)! I grabbed a notebook and quickly jotted ideas down as quickly as they came to me! I bought (jeff drove) a large canvas pad of paper at Hobby Lobby and thought I will make a glitter “Believe” sign, I hit up the dollar  $tore (jeff drove) and picked up ribbon, treat bags etc.  I took ordinary glass jars and wrapped them in blue and red patterned paper and card stock and put snowflakes in the middle. Less is more I told myself. Then I made a banner from some spring stuff I had saved months prior. SPelled noel in the banner.

My whole point in sharing the story is to let you know:

a. yes everyone loved the tree and decorations all done dirt cheap

b. You do NOT have to spend a ton on diy decor just to get a refined simple look

SO- make a list first things first what are your plans (do keep in mind this can and has by me been done for any time of year just did a repeat only in spring colors)

  • make a list of all projects and staple or paper clip together
  • go (if needed) to a cheapy dollar tree or the like
  • lay out old newspaper or rags over area
  • choose your colors (do  not skip this step) my spring ones were pink and gray
  • Repurpos old containers – jars, boxes, lids, oh and yes even toilet paper tubes -(i made a really cute toilet paper tube glued to a dish and painted so cheap but elegant
  • lay out all supplies new and old
  • go for it

I know you hear everywhere do it cheap but i am always on a budget and this decor looked adorable for real and still affordable ! I even had just hung up an old wooden curio or wood shelf thing and had little things inside each mini cubby plain and very very boring well for spring I chose to fill each (9) cubbies with  little missmatched glass jars (spagetti ones or any) and painted some pinnk and gray others just gray cardstock with torn edges and a pink ribbon in the center …. remember less really is more!

Lastly, let me give out a special thank you to jesus he is the reason for all my ideas and inspiration ! In all things GOD WORKS.

 

go on get to it .

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

