Lets Welcome Debbie Hodge of Get It Scrapped!

1. How did you first break into the scrapbooking industry?

At the time I discovered scrapbooking and scrapbooking magazines I was writing and submitting short fiction. Submitting the scrapbook pages I was making to magazines seemed a natural step (and it was so much easier and cheaper than duplicating 20-page double-spaced manuscripts and sending them out in the mail with return postage). I began to publish layouts in several magazines.

When I was asked to join the first (and unfortunately only) creative team for Scrapbook Answers magazine I also had the opportunity to pitch and write articles. Over the years, I wrote for Memory Makers magazine, and I authored the book Get It Scrapped for F + W Publications.

As I was doing this work, I found that I wanted to write longer articles than the magazines would publish, and so I started Get It Scrapped in 2008 as a way to “self-publish.” Get It Scrapped at that point was a forum, with pdf lessons delivered through private areas in the forum.

2. What problems arose when trying to get to be a part of the scrapbooking industry?

Rejection and cancelation.

First the rejection. To begin getting my pages published in magazines, I was diligent about submitting to many calls. Of course, many more pages were declined than were accepted. The same thing goes for getting onto creative / design teams. The rejection made my work better.

Second the cancelations. I LOVED working for Scrapbook Answers. Unfortunately the magazine folded — as did the rest of them over the years. That, however, opened up opportunities for publishing and teaching online.

3. How long has get it scrapped been online?

Get It Scrapped launched in April 2008 — so we are coming up on seven years this spring. Those first classes were offered in private forums. Eventually we set up the Get It Scrapped classrooms and the membership.

4. What was your first move to get into scrapbooking as a business?

Writing for magazines and working as a contributing columnist for Memory Makers magazine was some of the early industry work I did. My book Get It Scrapped was published in 2008 and the site launched soon after.

5. When did you begin scrapbooking?

Starting in high school I made albums with sticky pages and peel away plastic covers and added cut-out words from magazines to the photos. When I got married, I was invited to a Creative Memories party and invested in all the supplies and started making 12″x12″ scrapbook pages.

6. What was that push that actually made you decide to start your own business?

While I was writing for magazines before starting the website, I wasn’t writing as frequently as I wanted. Even more, my articles were edited down to the bare bones and kept quite simple. I really wanted to teach more complex design topics and starting my own business made that possible.

7. How does your family feel about your scrapbooking and the get it scrapped business?

I work a TON. You’d think they’d get sick of it. I think, though, that my sons and husband all realize that working for myself means I’ve got the flexibility to go to the beach in the summer, pick them up from school when they’re sick, and generallly BE AVAILABLE. Also, they’re proud of me — I’ve been doing this for so long that “mom’s scrapbooking” is a part of our family identity.

8. What is your favorite tool?

Photoshop!

9. What is your favorite paper company?

I’m a digital scrapbooker and love everything by Sara Gleason at The Lily Pad. I also buy paper lines from Snap.Click.Supply in digital formats and the Basic Grey lines are a favorite.

10. How did you manage to get a group of people interested in working for get it scrapped?

Tami Taylor administers the membership at Get It Scrapped and Amy Kingsford manages the creative team and edits and writes for the blog. Both of them were early customers at Get It Scrapped and contributed ideas and energy to our online community. I asked them to work for me and they said YES!

Leave a Reply

