Wrong Message?

I wanted to share this cute message that Noelle Hyman wrote to me the other day. Kind of made me whince!

Mindy,

Izzy pointed out something sadly, hysterically funny
the other day.

We were driving through a small town called, Payson,
about an hour from our home, when Izzy pointed toward
a huge sign in the parking lot of a local establishment.

The sign said, “Adult Cabaret.”

But what was ABOVE the sign is what had us laughing…

There was a giant three-dimensional cow on top of the
sign.

I feel pretty darn confident the owner did not mean for
us to associate cows with the dancers.

He (or she) was just going with what came to him, and
apparently, what came to him with his newly-leased,
previously-used building was a big cow.

The visual sent its own message, opposite of what he intended.

I’ve had a similar experience when looking at some scrapbook
pages (though none ever had anything to do with cabarets and
cows) and I’ve even experienced it looking back at a past page
of my own (remind me to share it with you some time).

Of course, none of them are as drastic as that cow. But
I’ve looked at the design of pages that filled me with one
kind of emotion or mood, and then when I read the journaling
found that the story of the page is totally different, even
opposite from the emotion the design gave me.

It’s kind of jolting to have to switch emotional gears
like that, and I admit it makes me feel disappointed.

That’s why I like my designs to send a message that jibes
with my written story.

The design can trigger a mood or emotion that leads right
into the words of your story.

In fact, if you ever worry about sounding cheesy or sappy
in your journaling, you can let the page design take care of
the emotional part so you can just share the facts with words.
That is how powerful and effective visuals can be.

So of course, that is a concept I focus on a lot in so many
of the video tutorials in the Paperclipping Membership.

Check it out if you want to be sure the story of your design
matches the story of your page:

http://www.paperclipping.com/membership/

Shine On,
Noell

Leave a Reply

